DOUGLASVILLE-DOUGLAS COUNTY WATER AND SEWER AUTHORITY BOARD MEETING April 12, 2022 MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Douglasville-Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority was held April 12, 2022 at 5:30 p.m. in the Community Room of the WSA Administration Building.

Members present:
Peggy Baugh, Chairman
Nia Brown
Cindy Fedack, Vice Chairman
Christopher Flowers
Joseph Fowler, Board Attorney
Dr. Romona Jackson-Jones, Chairman, Douglas County Board of Commissioners
Helen McCoy, Secretary/Treasurer
Rochelle Robinson, Mayor, City of Douglasville
Richard Segal
Gilbert Shearouse, Executive Director

The first item of business was the approval of the minutes of the March 22, 2022 regular meeting. A motion was made by Ms. Baugh and seconded by Ms. Fedack to approve the minutes as presented. There were no corrections or additions and the minutes were approved by majority vote with Mr. Segal abstaining from the vote.

Next, was the approval of the minutes of the Executive Session on March 22, 2022. A motion was made by Ms. Baugh and seconded by Mr. Flowers to approve the minutes as presented. There were no corrections or additions and the minutes were approved by majority vote with Mr. Segal abstaining from the vote.

OLD BUSINESS

There was none.

STATUS REPORT

There was nothing to add to the written report.

At this time, Ms. Baugh introduced the following resolutions:

RESOLUTION ELECTING OFFICERS OF THE AUTHORITY BOARD.

Ms. Baugh turned over the floor to Attorney Fowler, who conducted the election of officers of the Authority Board of Directors. Mr. Fowler called for nominations for the office of Board Chairman and Ms. Robinson nominated Ms. Baugh for the office. No other nominations were offered, and the floor was closed to further nominations. After the vote, Ms. Baugh was elected unanimously. The floor was

next opened for nominations to the office of Vice Chairman. Dr. Jones nominated Ms. Fedack for the position and the floor was closed to nominations after no other nominations were made. After the vote, Ms. Fedack was elected unanimously. Last, Attorney Fowler opened the floor for nominations to the position of Secretary/Treasurer. Ms. Robinson nominated Helen McCoy. With no other nominations, the floor was closed, the vote was taken, and Ms. McCoy was elected unanimously to the post. Attorney Fowler turned the meeting over to Chairman Baugh, who conducted the remainder of the meeting. A motion was made by Ms. Baugh and seconded by Mr. Flowers to elect the officers as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A PRUCHASE ORDER TO WEST GEORGIA MOBILE H YDRAULICS, INC. FOR A 2022 DODGE RAM 5500 CHASSIS WITH SERVICE BODY AND 7500 POUND CRANE FOR \$159,358.07.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Ms. Fedack to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AWARDING THE BID FOR THE COBB SEWER CONNECTION PROJECT TO RUBY-COLLINS, INC. IN THE AMOUNT OF \$6,407,915.00.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Dr. Jones to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING WORK ORDER NO. 22-1 WITH HAZEN AND SAWYER, P.C. FOR CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT SERVICES FOR THE COBB SEWER CONNECTION PROJECT IN THE NOT-TO-EXCEED AMOUNT OF \$388,177.00.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Ms. Robinson to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING WORK ORDER NO. 22-1 WITH MR SYSTEMS, INC. FOR SCADA UPGRADES FOR THE COBB SEWER CONNECTION PROJECT IN THE AMOUNT OF \$189,905.00,

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Ms. Fedack to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING AN INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT REGARDING TEMPORARY WASTEWATER SERVICE WITH COBB COUNTY.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Mr. Flowers to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A PURCHASE ORDER TO OVIVO USA, LLC FOR FOUR AERATOR PACKAGES, ONE CONTROL SYSTEM PACKAGE, AND ASSOCIATED EQUIPMENT FOR THE SWEETWATER CREEK WASTEWATER TREATMENT PLANT IMPROVEMENT PROJECT IN THE AMOUNT OF \$1,098,420.00.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Ms. Robinson to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING WORK ORDER NO. 22-2 WITH HAZEN AND SAWYER, P.C. FOR CONTRACTED PROJECT ENGINEERING SERVICES FOR A BIOSOLIDS MANAGEMENT STUDY IN THE NOT-TO-EXCEED AMOUNT OF \$170,000.00.

A motion was made by Chairman Baugh and seconded by Ms. Brown to adopt the resolution as presented. There was no discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

Mr. Shearouse officially welcomed Mr. Segal to the Board and congratulated Chairman Baugh and Vice-Chairman Fedack on their new positions. He handed out updated contact cards and announced the new Committee Assignments made by Chairman Baugh: Water – Mr. Flowers; Sewer – Chairman Baugh; Stormwater – Ms. Brown; Finance – Mr. Segal; and Planning and Personnel – Ms. Fedack.

Mr. Shearouse invited Board members to WSA's Spring Open House at the Bear Creek Water Plant on Saturday, April 30th, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Mr. Shearouse introduced Construction Foreman Jeffery Bodiford and Payment Processing Coordinator Jovetta Hutchings, the first two of the six employees selected for the 2022 Leadership WSA class. At the request of Chairman Baugh, they talked about what they learned while spending the day with the Administration department. Ms. Robinson congratulated them on their desire to be a part of this internal leadership development program and they answered questions from other members of the board.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was none.

There was no further business before the Board, so Chairman Citizen called the meeting to an end. There was no objection and the meeting was adjourned.

	Respectfully submitted,
Approved by	Helen R. McCoy, Secretary/Treasurer
Peggy Baugh, Chairman	